Book recommendation on newest psychology

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Book recommendation on newest psychology

Hello I'm looking for a book recommendations on the newest psychology break throughs.

I dont know what these are and how can I stay up to date? I guess neuro sience is a big thing lately.
    Are there any books that use the neuro sience model as foundation for describing change and influence?

Gunwitch it looks like you are always up to date. where do you get your informations? are there any good blogs or sites which present the newest break throughs? What did you read on neurosience?

Bexx

Modern psychology is spinning wheels, take it from me, my sister is a professor of psychology with a PhD, and I read all her books several years ago. I studied everything from Alfred Adler to B.F Skinner.

The truth is that Modern psychology does not penetrate deeply. For example, the most effective form of psychology is CBT which has better clinical effects than the drug Prozac. The catch is that you need to "retrain" your mind every 6 months or the effects wear off. This is still much better than popping prozac, but it isn't the permanent solution. CBT is simply Stoicism repackaged for modern consumption. Stoicism is great but it isn't permanent.

Now scientists are experimenting with micro-dosages of psilocybin (hallucinogen drug from magic mushrooms) which is leading to promising results. Same with the most potent hallucinogenic drug DMT which has semi-permanent effects like 20+ years.

But, even THAT isn't the true solution.. The true solution is meditation, two types of meditation:

1) Jhana meditation (which releases DMT in your brain)

and

2) Vipassana meditation

And you can do both meditations at the same time. Both of these meditations were discovered by the Buddha, and it works 100%.